Why Korea?

Many reasons. Here’s a quick glimpse at why I love this place.

1. The traditional Korea vs the modern Korea.

hanok modern city

It’s a little like the East meet West concept. Within the developed cities, you can find many beautiful hanok (Korean traditional houses) and experience the traditional Korean lifestyle and culture.

hanbok kfashion

As much as I love the Korean fashion, I find the traditional hanboks exceptionally pretty too!

performace kdrama

Trust me, the traditional Korean performances can be as interesting as the modern Korean dramas. The biggest difference is probably the makeup. Hahahaa.

traditional dance SNSD

Korean traditional music vs kpop. I think the guys would vote for kpop here, and we all know why. 😀

2. Food.

korean food

Simply my kind of comfort food.

3. the Language.

It was only after learning the language that I found it really interesting. Learning the korean language has been a fun and rewarding experience for myself. There are many times where I will be laughing at my weird pronunciations and making fun of my own grammatical mistakes. But then again, making mistakes is the best way to learn, isn’t it? 🙂

Even though my korean is not that fantastic, it did form and maintain a cultural connection between my korean friends and I. I’m glad that I am able to understand them more!

4. the Energy.

live live2

The city never sleeps! At any hour of either day or night, you’ll find people eating out, drinking, partying etc. Sometimes I wonder where did all the energy come from. It’s really amazing.

5. the People.

Korea is amazing, but I have to admit that a large part of my fond memories comes from my korean friends. Korea would never have been the same without them. 🙂

6. the Nature.

nature

I’ll admit that Korea is not exactly the best, but they do have some pretty amazing green spaces that melts my heart. Especially during different seasons, I just love how the trees starts changing colours. 🙂

And what about you? Did you leave your soul somewhere? 😀

Leave a Reply

